Hello World!

Hi, I’m Carly.

I am an avid cross stitcher, I stitch nearly everyday. Stitching is my anxiety/stress reliever, calm maker and sanity saver. This year I have discovered WIPocalypse, and will be attempting to finish several WIPs that fell by the wayside, unintentionally. There’s too much good stuff! #stitchallthethings

These are the WIPs I have chosen, they are far from my total WIPs, but the ones I would most like to get finished first. So here we go!

This was my start point for the Sweet As Pie SAL from The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery. This was my first kit purchase from them. The fabric is Crystal Sand from Picture This Plus, I did the first pie, a large chunk of the inside border and the other bits you see here. Then, other things came up, life, work, projects. I have already begun stitching on this piece, just this week, and am making good progress. Updates to follow soon.

Gigi, A Bewitching Pixie from Nora Corbett, on a gorgeous Mo’s Sale linen. I love her! Life gets in the way though. I know she will be a fairly quick finish, other SALs must have gotten in the way. I have already completed Ana, one of the companions and she only took approximately two weeks.

Story Time Sampler by The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery on Sterling linen (I think) from Picture This Plus. I got the frames done on time, I substituted DMC 105 (if I am remembering correctly) for the called for colors. The frames, while gorgeous, were VERY time consuming. They were completed on time. My plan at the time was to do the inside of one frame each week starting in October that year, and finish on time. That didn’t work out at all. I started filling in the frames when I started Pumpkin Passport, one month from each project together. That only lasted for 4 months, as you can plainly see here. I got a little bit further along on the Passport SAL, but not much.

Feather Fairy by Mirabilia. I do not currently recall what Fabric this is, I believe it is an Opal linen from Colour Cascade Fabrics though, I will try to figure it out. What is done went fairly quickly, I am not brave enough yet to do 1×1 skin, haha. She is gorgeous and I can’t wait to get her done.

There’s No Place Like Home in a Cross Stitcher Magazine I believe, I will know for sure when I get to it. It is on a Mo’s Sale Fabric on 28 ct monaco. This was to be a birthday present for a friend in June 2016. I failed miserably, LOL. This was taking to her birthday party and shown to her, as is. Hasn’t been touched since. I would like to have it done for her next birthday in June. 8 have a super cute finishing idea, hopefully I will be able to make it happen.

This is a Tobin James kit. I started when I got back into stitching regularly in 2014. I had been a little irritated that it wasn’t looking as good as the picture on the package, those color changes in the bird do not appear that harsh and blend better.

Sorry, We’re Dead by Satsuma Street on black 14 ct aida. While I love this, I don’t like stitching on it. It’s not the black, just a tad boring. There’s only 3 or 4 colors. I started it about a year and a half ago. Would like to be completed by Halloween this year.

Almost Winter, Leonid Afremov by Heaven And Earth Designs. I brought this one back out on New Year’s Eve, and have been working on it for the #100daysofHAED also, for 2018, I am hoping for a page finish, or two.

Bonus:

She Believed She Could by Lizzie Kate on Ice Princess 32ct jobelan from Under The Sea Fabrics. This was my New Year New Start, finished in about less than 2 days. I did mix up the blue and pink flowers, because one symbol was / and one was \. It doesn’t bother me enough to frog it though. I changed the onside of the pink from the dark gray (which really should have been the blue flower) to the brown that should have been the pink words.

Leave a comment